Previous open-subject publication calls

This is an automatic translation generated by artificial intelligence. May contain errors.

This page displays information from previous calls. The current call can be found here

Frequently asked questions about this call

This call is held at Rey Juan Carlos University to encourage teaching staff to create high-quality open educational resources and to promote their use in the subjects taught by these instructors. The call is an initiative of the Vice-Rectorates for Digital Transformation and Teaching Innovation, University Extension, and Academic Planning and Teacher Training. It is framed within the actions of the collaborative RED project (Digital educational resources: quality and open sharing), funded under the UniDigital Plan of the Ministry of Universities.

The details of the call can be found in the document Call for the recognition of publication of subjects in open access 2022-2023. Below, some of its most important aspects are summarized and explained. In case of discrepancy between this summary and the document, the document shall prevail, as it is the officially published version by the University.

The details of this call were presented in a session held on Wednesday, July 13, 2022:

Slides used in the presentation: PDF format, ODF format for LibreOffice.
Video of the presentation.

Public online Q&A sessions about the call were held at the following times via Teams room:

Tuesday, January 10, 13:00
Thursday, January 12, 13:00

The link to the form for second-semester applications can be found further down on this page, in the “Application submission” section.

Purpose

This call aims to promote the work of URJC teaching staff to publish their materials in open-access subjects, evaluating this work and, where appropriate, awarding an economic incentive and other benefits and effects, recognizing the effort made in developing materials published during the 2022-23 academic year.

Participation

Participation in this call is carried out by proposing subjects from the URJC virtual classroom, which must be official teaching in a URJC undergraduate or master’s degree during the 2022-2023 academic year. The teaching materials for these subjects must have been previously published openly.

Open-access publication of materials

Materials submitted for evaluation must clearly display the license under which they are published, which must be one of the open-access publication licenses approved by URJC Open Publication Council, with the consent of all authors (Creative Commons Attribution or Attribution-ShareAlike licenses).

Bibliographic materials (guides, notes, problem and exercise collections, exam collections, presentations, etc.) must be published in the open institutional repository, BURJC Digital. Videos and audios must be uploaded to TV URJC.

Once the materials are published, they must be linked from the corresponding subject in the virtual classroom, in a clearly visible location so that it can be easily verified that the openly published materials are referenced in the subject.

The document How to publish teaching materials openly can be consulted to understand the complete process of openly publishing teaching materials. In the specific case of audios and videos, the Procedure for publishing open materials on TV URJC should also be consulted.

Application submission

To propose a subject, once its materials have been openly published, the person responsible for the grade book group (as listed in the Teaching Organization Plan) will complete the call form (first semester) (call now closed) or the call form (second semester).

Subjects taught during the first semester may be submitted until September 30, 2022, and those taught during the second semester, until January 20, 2023.

Resolving doubts

To resolve questions related to this call, you can consult the frequently asked questions with their answers later in this document. If they cannot be resolved in this way, they can be raised by email to ofilibre@urjc.es, where they will be addressed as soon as possible.

Frequently asked questions and answers

To facilitate consultation, all questions that are resolved will be included in this section.

Is there a specific format for documents (presentations, text documents…)?

Although it is not mandatory, OfiLibre has developed templates that can be used for materials published in open access.

Which licenses are valid?

There are two licenses that have been approved by URJC Open Publication Council as valid for open materials:

Both licenses are explained in more detail in the Guide on publishing teaching materials in open access.

How do I specify the license in my documents?

Depending on the type of document, the license is usually included either at the beginning or at the end. In text documents, it usually appears at the beginning where the copyright notice would normally go. In videos, it can appear at the beginning, where the title appears, or at the end where the credits would appear. In audio recordings, likewise at the beginning or end. The important thing is that it appears within the material so that the license can be recognized. You can find more information in this guide to publishing open teaching materials where it is explained in more detail how to include the license in the materials.

Who can upload the materials for a subject to the open archive?

Any of the authors can upload the materials, after signing and sending a publication authorization document in open access signed by the author who uploads the materials, which serves as a declaration of conformity.

Once the materials have the license, how do I upload them to the open archive?

Instructions for uploading materials to the institutional open archive can be found on this BURJC page.

Who can submit the application for my subject in the call?

The person responsible for the subject in the 2022-2023 academic year must submit the application.

What happens if my materials do not fit into any of the categories contemplated in the call?

In the case of materials that do not fit into any category, include them in others and justify it appropriately.

Where do I put my open resources in my virtual classroom subject?

For the purposes of the call, place the links to the open resources in an easily accessible location, such as at the beginning of the contents page, regardless of whether they are later linked from other parts of the subject. This will facilitate access to them during the application evaluation process. Keep in mind that evaluators must easily find the links to these materials.

How do I upload my videos and link them from the Virtual Classroom?

Videos and podcasts must first be uploaded to the TV URJC platform and then linked so that they are visible in the Virtual Classroom subject. It is advisable to consult the Procedure for publishing open materials on TV URJC. This procedure indicates how videos must be published on TV URJC in a single collection, which will later be indicated in the application form for this call. The procedure also shows how to insert videos uploaded to TV URJC into the Virtual Classroom.

Videos uploaded from TV URJC to the Virtual Classroom following this procedure are visible to the students of the subject. If the subject is approved to be made openly available, that collection will be opened to the general public, so anyone will be able to see it.

I have already submitted the form, but I want to make changes. How do I do this?

Once the form has been submitted, it cannot be modified. You can fill out the form again, and the evaluation committee will always consider the last version submitted for each subject.

Can I contribute software (computer programs) that I use in my classes in any category?

Free software used in teaching can be contributed in the “Other materials” category of the call, if it meets certain requirements. To explain what these requirements are, and in general for consultation by teachers who are authors of free software used in their classes, we have prepared specific recommendations: Open Subjects Call: software for teaching"

How would my subject look in open access? Can I see an example?

To see a subject in open access, you can go to the Virtual Classroom and before logging in, there are several available. Example 1 Example 2

Do I have to change the way I present my materials to participate?

Not necessarily. Although to upload them to URJC Institutional Open Archive (BURJC Digital) they must be grouped. The idea is to maintain the way we teach the classes and create a compilation for deposit.

I teach the same subject in two groups, that is, it appears twice in the virtual classroom… do I have to submit it twice? Do I have to complete the participation form twice?

Yes. You must fill out the call form as many times as you have subjects in the virtual classroom.

How would my subject look in open access? Can I see an example?

To see a subject in open access, you can go to the Virtual Classroom and before logging in, there are several available. Example 1 Example 2

Do I have to change the way I present my materials to participate?

Can only CCBY and CCBYSA licenses be used? Why not CCBYNC?

R: The accepted licenses are CCBY and CCBYSA. CCBYNC is not accepted because it is not part of the licenses agreed upon by the Open Publication Council.

When is the last day to participate in the Call?

09/30/2022 is the last day to complete the call form with the required information, but to do so they must have been previously uploaded to the corresponding repositories. It is important to take into account that URJC Institutional Open Archive (BURJC Digital) must be able to process the material, accept it and give it a handle (url identifier). Therefore, the deadline for uploading material to BURJC Digital is September 28. If the material is rejected by the library, the handle will not be obtained and therefore it will not be possible to participate at that point.

In the call, point 2 says the following: “They must clearly include in the header, first page or equivalent the following data: Authors, title, and date. It will also include a reference to URJC, to the subject or subjects in which the material is used and to the place of deposit (TV URJC or BURJC digital, including its link) and clearly the open access distribution license”. So, when it says “including its link”, what does it mean?

The digital archive itself will take care of this process. When the inclusion in the archive proceeds and the link (handle) is generated, the archive itself will include this information in the deposited material.

I want to publish a set of exercises, but many times they are inherited from years and years… can I use them and upload them to the repository?

The call is designed to release and publish materials of one’s own creation, or in co-authorship with authorization from the remaining authors. Publishing something as one’s own, without being sure if we are the authors or not, is not advisable.

Until last year we were two professors teaching the subject. For this course only the other professor will teach it. Can I participate in the call?

No. The call is for teachers who teach it this year. On the other hand, the materials (which may be co-authored with other professors) if they finally receive economic recognition, will be for the professors who teach the subject in the current academic year.

If I have my videos on Youtube, does it work for the call?

No. They must be in URJC-TV repository with one of the proposed licenses.

I have a computer program that I would like to participate in the call. How do I include it?

Computer programs can participate in the call. There is a procedure for their storage and in the participation form, it must be included in the category of “Others” (link).

If I teach classes in the second semester… can I participate now?

No, you have to wait for the second semester call

If my subject is finally chosen to be published in open access but there is some material in my virtual classroom that cannot actually be made open access… what happens?

In that case, that specific material can be configured so that it is not visible (this will be done at the time of publication).

I uploaded videos to TV URJC and I don’t see them available

Complete question: Yesterday I uploaded a series of videos/audios to TV URJC for a subject that I want to submit to the open access call. The thing is, when I access the link to the series to check if everything is correct, no videos appear. However, if I go to the content manager of my TV URJC profile, it does say that the videos have been uploaded and published correctly. I don’t know if this is normal or if I’m missing a step to be able to submit the subject to the call. Answer: it’s normal, because the videos are uploaded, but they are not yet public. They will be if your subject is finally made open access. In the meantime, only the students of your subject will be able to see them, accessing them via a link from the virtual classroom.

I have Notes and Slides, how do I deposit them?

Complete question: In my case, I have two types of materials: notes and presentations. According to the call, I should upload two PDFs, one for notes and one for presentations. The question is whether I can upload everything at once or if I have to make two entries to request two links in BURJC Digital.

Answer: As they are two PDF documents (each corresponding to a category) they would have to be two entries in BURJC Digital, one for each document.

When uploading my notes to BURJC… do I upload them by topic or by type of material?

Complete question: In the call it says: In the case of bibliographic materials (notes, presentations or slides, problem collections, exam collections), they must be deposited in URJC Institutional Open Archive (BURJC Digital), as a single document per category, in PDF format and in the source format used for its creation (as an attached file to the document). Can’t I upload the notes by each topic? (That’s how I have them made and uploaded to BURJC, because it seems more pedagogical that each topic has its videos, its notes, its solved exercises, etc.). Similarly, the exercises are by each topic (and even different files for each exercise).

Answer: In this call the documents must be uploaded in a single PDF per category. This does not prevent you from using them topic by topic in your classes, and having a PDF per topic (or per class session, or whatever you think is best). But when uploading it to BURJC Digital, it must be a single document. Then, in some visible part of the subject you will link to that document (it can be, for example, “complete collection of notes”), so that when the subject is made open access it can be clearly seen where the complete document is.

The complete document can simply be a concatenation of the PDFs (if you need help composing that concatenation, let us know), if possible with a cover and an index. Or, depending on the tool you use to write them, all the notes in a joint document, from which you will produce a single PDF. But then, if you prefer to upload the materials topic by topic for your students, because you handle them better that way (or because you make small changes to fix errors that you detect when preparing the sessions for each week), there is no problem with that. Just warn your students that it’s better for them to use the topic-by-topic versions.

Is the maximum personal economic incentive for the entire academic year?

Complete question: The call text indicates that there is a maximum personal economic incentive of 1,500 euros. Is that maximum per semester, or for the entire academic year?

Answer: The maximum of 1,500 per person is for the entire academic year. This means, for example, that if the personal maximum has already been reached with subjects from the first semester, no economic incentive will be received if subjects submitted in the second semester are participated in. In any case, if this maximum is reached, the other benefits of the call will continue to apply, so you can participate in the call with subjects from the second semester even if the personal maximum has already been reached during the first semester.

For an annual subject, in which semester can it be submitted?

Complete question: My subject is not semester-based, but annual. In which semester call can I submit it?

Answer: You can submit the subject in the call for either of the two semesters, but only in one of them. In any case, the entire subject will be submitted.